OZCHI and SIGGRAPH ASIA

Natural swimming pool, Litchfield National Park, Darwin
Natural swimming pool, Litchfield National Park, Darwin

The OZCHI conference featured keynotes from Paul Dourish, Gary Marsden and Fiona Ingram (Sensis Australia) but I only had time for a talk by Dourish before rushing off to SIGGRAPH ASIA in Singapore.

At OZCHI Truna, David, Marlyn and I hosted a workshop on designing digital aids for engagement in natural places.

We would have to get feedback from the 9 participants to be sure, but I thought it went really well, and now I know a little more about workshops I would love to host one again, in fact I may even suggest one to as demo for archimuse in Indiana. Paul Dourish seems to be moving towards the cultural implications of CHI and yet I think to myself his notion of culture seems rather vague but then I missed the first 30 minutes of the talk (for once, not my fault!)

Cairns and Palm Cove (where we were staying) is picturesque, had a great time diving on the great barrier reef, and in Singapore there were many people offering to show me around so I will have to think of ways to repay them.

After Singapore Eric Fassbender took me on a tour of walks and swims in Darwin (Litchfield National Park) and if Litchfield is anything to go by, Kakadu must be spectacular. Saw quite a bit of the wildlife and even some oddly toothed locals. And the fresh food Saturday market (Parap) was awesome.

Darwin also has a brand new conference venue facility on the marina (with seafood restaurants on the jetty nearby) but sorry my camera was full!

Leave a Reply

